Too Critical

stream-of-consciousness-saturday-2018-19

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “critic(al).” Use it any way you’d like. Have fun!



You judge too harshly
These things I try
My efforts lay bare
To the critic I share
A golden nugget
Found by another
You couldn’t possibly see
For you are only searching
The wrong and the failed
That which I do
That isn’t enough
That which I do
That doesn’t measure up
To your perfect image
Of something that can’t be
For the human in me
Is imperfect and true
To the nature of things
But you kill my spirit
With acidic disapproval
Making me doubt
Any further attempts
At trying anything again
Can’t you just accept
That I did my utmost best
And that is always enough

Debbie Gravett © 2019.02.23

#SoCS: Critic(al)
Image by Pixabay/geralt

4 thoughts on “Too Critical

      1. True. That’s an awful situation no child should have to endure. And the concept of emotional distance is difficult and complicated for plenty of adults including myself. I will hope for nurturing people in the extended family or community.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment