Know Your Numbers

Dreaded number on the scale
Life purpose number telling you the way
Seeing repeating numbers
Numbers, Numbers everywhere
The cost of living
The price of petrol
The static salary
Numbers, numbers everywhere
Mathematical education struggle
Baking calculations
Counting attending guests
Numbers, numbers everywhere
Knowledge of them a necessity
To function in everyday life
A better way of learning required
To teach the numbers everywhere

Debbie Gravett © 2018.10.29

#OctPoWriMo: By The Numbers
Image by Pixabay/werner22brigitte

4 thoughts on “Know Your Numbers

  1. I feel stressed reading this one. Well done! Most of us are haunted by numbers without realising it – that’s what I take away from you poem. And of course, the message that education is absolutely necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Angela. I was lucky, because I was good at maths, but I see how my daughter struggles and this was a message to the kids who want to drop maths as well that in one form or another they need it for life, but the educators need to find a way to teach it that they can understand.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. I guess the stress I felt was in the urgency. Your poem reall makes clear that math is everywhere. I wasn’t particularly good at it, but also not too bad. It’s a hard subject to struggle with, but it’s necessary.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m glad you felt the urgency, because I think it is the stress that those who struggle with it feel and the sheer overwhelm. Thank you so much for stopping by and reading and for your feedback. Love seeing what works in my writing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment