Crying for my Country

Today tears escape from the corners of my eyes
Not for pain that I own, but that of my fellow man
For houses, people and animals burning
And others being washed away by nature
On the east and west coastlines of our land
Fires and storms strike continuously
Too far apart to cancel each other out
Too out of control to save all
Transporting souls home and leaving others homeless
Devastation is ravaging our beautiful nation
My heart is breaking and angry
For in all this sadness my hope for humanity wavers
When some express joy at the peril of a certain group
Not able to see past hatred to people in need
My belief in mankind fractures further
But heroes rise to help in greater numbers
Than the heartless who should remain unseen

Debbie Gravett © 2017.06.08

One thought on “Crying for my Country

Leave a Reply

