Open Up

If I close my eyes really tight
Shut all the curtains and blinds
Lock my doors and windows
Power down my electronic devices
Unplug radios and television
Burn newspapers and magazines
Could I possibly deny
The chaos of this earth?

Burying my head in the sand
Living an unattached life in denial
I might as well be dead
So I’ll open everything and power it up
I won’t go looking for the news report
But rather for the demonstrations of humanity
For if we take the time to look, we can acknowledge
All the good that does exist on this earth.

Debbie Gravett © 2017.04.10

via Daily Prompt: Denial

3 thoughts on “Open Up

Leave a Reply

