Story of Self-Discovery

I will turn the pages of my life
from single word picture books,
to illustrated stories of learning,
to young love and coming of age tales,
and great epic novels, romances, mysteries,
and the fiction, or not, of real-life aging.
I will sizzle with love, smoulder in the curious,
burn in the flames of death, and extinguish them
with the tears of loss, realization and triumph.
Through all these stages of life,
I will carry a book and write another.
The journaled white space of my life,
all filled up with different shades of ink.
The greens of peace and nature, yellow of joy,
reds and pinks of love and raw adoration and passion,
white of silence and harmony, brief pauses,
greys of storms and sadness, turmoil and confusion,
blues of unlimited possibilities,
in the stretch of the sky and the seas,
and the black of my story,
penned in the process of its living,
and the discovery of me.

Debbie Gravett © 2024.05.23

Image by Enoch111 from Pixabay

FOWC: Flame
RDP: Picture Book

4 thoughts on “Story of Self-Discovery

Leave a comment