Quieting Ego

My ego stepped in
Voiced its opinion loud and proud
Always the doubter, naysayer and pessimist
It had to meddle where it wasn’t welcome
Only trying to protect me from disappointment
Working to keep me from being unhappy
But the opposite is not happiness
In mediocrity, sitting on the fence
Nothing is accomplished and no joy found
Hard work to shut the sound out
Call to the soul to make itself heard
For only with this light shall I risk it
Perhaps I will find the treacherous let down
Or there could be triumph and magic in it all
But without trying I’ll continue to sit on the wall

Debbie Gravett © 2017.06.21


via Daily Prompt: Meddle

Leave a Reply

