They said that I’d survive

At the death of my first pet
They said that I’d survive
At the break up of my first love
They said that I’d survive
At the failure of a driver’s test
They said that I’d survive
At the loss of a parent
They said that I’d survive
And then the loss of another
They said that I’d survive
Here I stand having survived
So many thing that I thought
Would triumph, would kill me
I have survived, but I feel
That I have not lived in between
So what was the point of surviving?

Debbie Gravett © 2017.05.26


via Daily Prompt: Survive

6 thoughts on “They said that I’d survive

Leave a Reply

