Toxic Love Affair

Offering the comfort of a warm blanket
No matter if it’s frigid or scorching
You are always there for me
Giving me seconds of happiness
Safe and content for the moment we share
Sliding over my lips to a symphony
I long for you, dream of us together
Sharing secret rendezvous
Hiding the evidence of our togetherness

Guilt and shame overtake what felt so very beautiful
Because I know true love isn’t something to hide
In moderation we could be
But a little of you is not enough
It has to be all or none
Nonetheless we have been discovered
For I have been questioned
On the expanding effect you have on me
Oh my dearest chocolate, you will have to leave

Debbie Gravett © 2017.04.28

via Daily Prompt: Blanket

4 thoughts on “Toxic Love Affair

Leave a Reply

