Looking In

A word that registers and resonates
It ricochets off the walls of my heart
Piercing holes each pass it makes
Leaving behind a swiss cheese of love
I can now put a label to this feeling
A dictionary definition for the void
For I am the OUTLIER
You would not know it,
But I did want to belong once
I gave it up a long time ago
When I saw your wishes not like mine
And now I watch from a distance
Trying hard to permanently let go
Though I am told that this is a group
That I am not supposed to release
I still try to leave you in the past

Debbie Gravett © 2017.04.09

via Daily Prompt: Outlier

Leave a Reply

