You don’t know me

I enter the room, filled with dread
I want to be here, but I’m not sure if I’m wanted
I was invited, but wonder if it was out of obligation
When the loud party chatter turns to murmuration
It is all the confirmation I need
To know that I shan’t stay long
And in future I will decline
For I do not need to go
Where I am made to feel an outsider
Inferior and less than the others
I do not need to visit you again
No matter who you are to me
I am more than your opinion
I am more than you’ve bothered to know

Debbie Gravett © 2017.03.13

via Daily Prompt: Murmuration

12 thoughts on “You don’t know me

  1. I remember thinking those first few lines when I was at school 30 odd years ago, I actually thought it would change when I got older and left school but it doesn’t. However when you get older it’s easier to see and understand the last part. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

