Leaving Me

In the caverns of my mind I ruminate
Why did you leave and where did you go?
You left me, deserted me and went away
What if I’d done this differently or that?
Would I have been good enough then?
Had you made up your mind long ago?
Was there ever a chance that you would stay?
Was it something I did, or just who I am?
Was I never good enough to keep you
Or was there something or someone better?
I marinate in these miserable questions
Hopefully one day I can forget
Hopefully one day I will find someone to hang in
For now I thrash and strike out in pain
For now I shut down and shut out the sunshine
All this for a most undeserving individual.

Debbie Gravett © 2017.03.09

via Daily Prompt: Ruminate

4 thoughts on “Leaving Me

  1. you know, we torture ourselves with those questions because we cannot stand the thought that we were not good enough… but instead of looking for the answer outside we can try to ask ourselves the question: “I was not good enough” – is that true? Can I absolutely know that it’s true? And then look for examples of being good enough… to then come to the insight that maybe the other was not good enough…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

