Who do I hear?

Overwhelmed, overpowered
Steps away from insanity
Talking to myself
An argument is brewing
I know not how to deal
A plague is upon me
My thoughts swarm
Attacking, defeating, destroying
My ego’s voice the loudest
Assuring me of my lack of worth
My inabilities and ignorance
Intensifying all of my insecurities
A child bereft of love and care
An incompetent human error

Vaguely a choir of angels call
Distant whispers of better things
A divine army waiting for me
To fight, conquer and silence
To show value and competence
Shine light on the void
Warm the chill of disdain
Bringing the gift of confidence
Praising and highlighting
All that is favourable and good
My thoughts swarm
Building, empowering, enlightening
A child enveloped in love and care
An exceptional human success

Which shall I choose to hear?


Debbie Gravett © 2017.03.07

via Daily Prompt: Swarm

4 thoughts on “Who do I hear?

Leave a Reply

