Seconds

I gratefully survive from the scraps of your table
By the little affection that you see to toss my way
I cannot blame you for this short coming
As I laid myself before you to dust your feet
Be of service to you for what you may need
So that I may feel loved, worth something
I’ve been accepting seconds all my life
The spare child never really needed
Until old age and ailing health or a tight spot
I had worth once more and value to the world
A life chosen of conditional worth, all up to you
To go inside, dig deep and find the truth
Love and worth come from within
All I need to do is to love myself
Such a simple task?

Debbie Gravett © 2017.02.24

4 thoughts on “Seconds

Leave a Reply

