Safe in My Insanity

It’s my bunker from the world
A world which always seems at war
My hideout from the horrors
Everyday news splash across the page
I find myself here more and more
Refuge from reprehensible reality
I fade into my shell further and further
Afraid, addled by anxiety even of my shadow
I fall into the darkness deeper and deeper
Only coming out occasionally
Now lost within the mirrors of my mind
An illusion of fantasy and make-belief
Safe and secure in my insanity.

Debbie Gravett © 2017.02.22

via Daily Prompt: Hideout

Leave a Reply

