Be Your Best

Be Your Best

What happened to childhood?
Did I misplace it somewhere?
It’s long gone and here I remain.
Pushed to succeed and be the best,
I seem to have lost
The best times of my life.
Working ad infinitum
To be number one,
Nobody taught me
How to be number two.
So now here I stand,
Seeing a failure in the mirror,
Forgetting the successes
I’ve had along the way,
Forgetting all the good times.
Now for the new time
Standing before me,
Learning to shine by just being me.
Accepting that doing my best
Is all I can do and all I can do
Is more than good enough.

Debbie Gravett © 2017.01.10

via Daily Prompt: Shine

5 thoughts on “Be Your Best

Leave a Reply

