Breaking News

You terrify and scare me
Leave me hopeless and sad
Avoidance my antidote
Others feel the need to share
Spread the fear and chaos
Eliciting the foetal position
Hands over ears and eyes closed
Trying to shut you out
I know you’re out there
Part factual, part elaboration
I might be the ostrich
My heart can no longer stand you
My entire being poisoned
By the utterance of your words
“What is the world coming to?”
My cry to your stories
Turmoil, anxiety and nausea
Nightmares, pity and pain
From your misled revelations.

Debbie Gravett © 2016.11.23


via Daily Prompt: Elicit

Leave a Reply

