Welcome to Our Hovel

Of pots and pans, dust and dirt
My life seems to consist
Constant cleaning craving my attention
But other things are calling louder
More interesting, much more appealing
Though I might have sanitized just yesterday
The place is filthy, soiled and unclean
For I have children and a family
Who know nothing of putting things away,
Wiping up the sticky substance they just spilled
Or general hygiene of a house and home
Not that I haven’t tried to teach them this
But if someone else will do it for them
Why should they tackle the trying task?
I ponder of the pigsty they will populate
When they move out on their own
Or is it just because I’m here
They hack this house into a hovel?

Debbie Gravett © 2016.10.17

via Daily Prompt: Filthy

Leave a Reply

