Insufficient Vocabulary

Of lofty language and verbiage
I believed a true writer is
I thought I fell well short of this
And almost didn’t even try
But within my being something fought
It had to make its way out
My ego was in combat against my psyche
I had to be told I was not good enough
Spare myself the pain of rejection
Acidulous comment and laughter
The words fought harder and stronger
Though simple they were, they were understood
And as you read this piece and more
You’ll know they won the war.

Debbie Gravett © 2016.10.14

via Daily Prompt: Lofty

Leave a Reply

