My Mistake

Like a cunning thief
You stole from me
Something of great value.
I never knew then,
For I was daddy’s little girl
Filled with innocence
Ready to believe all
That you had to say to me.
Only now with wisdom of age
Do I more fully understand
Your lies and deception,
Of which you made me
Unconsciously complicit,
Have left me indecisive,
Unsure of decisions I make,
Questioning to such extent
That I have no faith
In anything I do.
Because I made the mistake
Once before
When I trusted in you.

Debbie Gravett © 2016.10.17

via Daily Prompt: Trust

Leave a Reply

