Meditation

The flicker brought focus and peace,
Though it could be destructive
Tonight its light travels
Deep into the inside of my soul.
Illuminating details of my interior
For closer thought and introspection
Of that which I believe that I am
And that which I portray
To the rest of the world
And to the mirror every morning.
The fluorescence asking me
To look past that which I see
To find that which I feel inside.
To hold a candle to myself
Not to melt the shadows away
But to acknowledge them,
Accept their presence
And thank them for making
The light shine brighter.
For I am only whole
With yin and with yang.

Debbie Gravett © 2016.10.14

via Daily Prompt: Candle

Leave a Reply

