Baby Steps

Awkward and clumsy she tried this new skill,
To stand and then half raise one foot
And place it a little further forward.
At eleven years old she wouldn’t remember
This struggle of her eleven month old self.
I had the pleasure to witness this
As I too moved clumsily and awkwardly
Through the stages of new parenting.
Unfamiliar territory traversed with
Indecisive steps filled with trepidation.
There was no manual, just many books
And people dispensing their opinions –
Varied like the shades of blue
And though intended to be,
Not always very helpful nor considerate.
But though I stumbled and I fell
And many frustrated tears fell too,
My child learned to walk and so did I.
I walked so well that I chose
To do it with another.

Debbie Gravett © 2016.10.14

via Daily Prompt: Clumsy

Leave a Reply

