Awaken Now

What is this that I do every day?
Unconsciously breathing in and out
I rise, I eat, I work, I eat, I travel, I eat
And then usually I sleep.
I glance behind me at time
Take it in my hands, turn it over and over
Trying to change it, improve it
I turn and look ahead
Imagining it, living it, feeling the future
Vividly painting the exact plan
I haven’t looked down, and again
More moments have slipped by
To stand behind me, to be past
And I’ve failed to awake to my now.

Debbie Gravett © 2016.09.19

Leave a Reply

