Dying

All around me is death and dying
People and animals are leaving
They’re dropping like flies says a friend
Trying to make light of another family member
Departing the plain of the living
A black cloud is starting to hang
For every ring of the phone
I find my breath held
Wondering what bad news it carries
I seem to be waiting and watching
Trying to figure who could be next
This is happening in a time of peace
Well relatively speaking no one here
Has declared that it’s war
Why are so many falling by the way side?
Does my aging have any significance?
Do I know older people and pets?
Or perhaps our lifestyle has us
Succumbing to illness and disease more often
I can’t quite put my finger on it
But my heart and senses are grieving
For there isn’t enough time to recover
Before the next sad arrow strikes

Leave a Reply

