Is it cheating?

I heard the car in the driveway
I knew what he was going to ask
How was I going to answer him?
How could I tell him what I’d done today?
I’d met a man and gone for a ride on his bike
He’d taken me to lunch and fed me grapes
He’d held my hand and looked deeply in my eyes
We’d wondered and meandered
Enjoying each other’s company
Had deep, meaningful conversations
Held one another and touched, kissed and loved
How could I tell him that I’d cheated?
I wet my lips and closed my eyes at the memories
We kissed a tender hello and I was buried in his embrace
When we parted he picked up the book and smiled
I didn’t have to tell my real-life love of what I’d done
He knew me well.

Leave a Reply

